Blog Post 2

𝘞𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘵𝘰 𝘌𝘹𝘱𝘦𝘤𝘵 𝘞𝘩𝘦𝘯 𝘠𝘰𝘶 𝘈𝘳𝘦 𝘎𝘭𝘶𝘵𝘦𝘯 𝘍𝘳𝘦𝘦

So, what has gluten in it anyways?

Obvious

-Beer: Yup. There is gluten in beer. Beer is traditionally brewed using gluten-containing grains such as barley, wheat, or rye.

-Cake: Your favorite treat is full of gluten. All standard flours used for cake making have gluten in them. Without gluten, cakes are drier and crumbly.

-Bread: Probably the most obvious, bread. Eating bread that isn’t gluten free, sounds like a trip to the hospital. The main ingredient in bread in gluten-containing grains.

-Pasta: You name it. Spaghetti, fettuccine, macaroni, lasagna and ravioli all contain gluten. Pasta is primarily made of dough containing wheat.

Not So Obvious

-Gum/ Licorice: Did you know you were chewin on gluten? Some types of gum are dusted in wheat flour to maintain its stickiness. Like gum, both red and black licorice contain flour to help bind all the ingredients together.

-Play Doh: If there is a risk your child who is Celiac will eat the Play Doh during craft time, take it away! One of the ingredients of Play Doh is wheat flour.

-Beauty Products: Certain hairsprays, face/body lotions, lipsticks, and facial cleansers contain the demon itself, gluten. (Throwback to 2020, when the new nourishing Ultra Repair Oatmeal Face Cleanser was released and caused my face to break out into hives. She contained gluten.)

-Salad Dressings/Sauces: BBQ sauce, Marinades, Soy Sauce, Sweet n Sour sauces and many more are gluten infested products.

* Although more items than not contain gluten, there are so many alternative options. There are gluten free choices that can substitute for any of the items listed above. Turn to next weeks blog post to find out!